Skip To Content

Records Services

Pistol Purchase Permits  (License to Purchase – LTP)

Pistols may be purchased directly from a licensed gun dealer without obtaining a LTP. You MUST apply for a LTP a pistol if any of the following apply:
  • Purchase of a pistol from an individual who is not a licensed gun dealer
  • A pistol is registered in another state, but the owner of the pistol is moving to Michigan
  • The pistol is inherited

Requirements to obtain a LTP:

  • 18 years of age (to purchase from a private citizen in MI) or 21 (to purchase from a federally licensed dealer)
  • Valid picture identification
  • US citizen or Resident Legal Alien (must show I-551 card)
  • Must not be otherwise legally prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm (i.e.: felony conviction; assault conviction)
All applicants will have a clearance check completed, regardless of the number of times they have applied previously.  LTP applications will be processed, and permits issued, with due speed and diligence, as required by state law.

There is no fee for a License to Purchase (LTP).  One permit is needed for each weapon. 


Concealed Pistol License (CPL)

  • Michigan Concealed License Application Kits are available at the Command Desk in the main lobby of the police station.
  • The CPL application is processed by Oakland County, 1200 North Telegraph, Pontiac 
  • For more information, call OAKLAND COUNTY at (248) 858-0521 or visit the Michigan State Police website.

Fingerprinting

Non-criminal / applicant fingerprinting is done by the Department’s Records Section. A fee of $20 is charged for the first two cards; additional cards are $5 each. A fee of $64.75 is charged for applicant fingerprints that are required to be submitted to the Michigan State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation electronically via LiveScan. You need not be a resident to obtain this service. No appointment is necessary. Fingerprinting services are available Monday though Friday 8:30 AM-4:00 PM.

Woman being fingerprintedThe U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Office in Detroit requires that prints be taken by them for U.S. immigration purposes (follow instructions given in packet).
 

Obtaining Copies of Reports

Copies of incident reports and traffic accident reports may be obtained through the Records Section, Monday through Friday 8:30 AM -4:00 PM. Reports are generally available 48 to 72 hours after the incident or accident occurred.

In order to obtain a copy of a report, either the requestor’s name must appear in the report or a notarized authorization must be presented.  Contact the Records Section for further details.

Fees:   

$5 for pages 1 - 3
$1.50 per page for pages 4 - 10
$1 per page for pages 11 and up
Accident reports are $5
 

Accident Reports On-Line

Effective September 1, 2009, copies of traffic accident reports (UD10s) became available on the Internet. For a small fee, reports may be obtained by visiting https://payments.clemis.org/extservices.
 

Record Clearance

Records/Police clearances are conducted on adults only and will identify arrests with the City of Farmington Hills. A person requesting a clearance on anyone but themselves must have a notarized authorization from that person.  Fee for a Records/Police clearance is $10, Monday through Friday 8:30 AM- 4:00 PM.

A request for a “Criminal Conviction History” can be made through the Michigan State Police. Visit the Michigan State Police website and click on the Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) for more information.

Michigan State Police
Criminal Justice Information Center
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing,  MI 48913
(517) 322-1957
 

Alarms

The Alarm Billing Ordinance is designed to hold accountable the relatively small percentage of businesses and homeowners who were responsible for generating approximately 20% of the Police Department’s annual calls-for-service. False alarm response continues to be a significant drain on department resources. Without this ordinance, the vast majority of Farmington Hills citizens would have to subsidize this alarm response, without benefit.

The Alarm Billing Ordinance provides for levying fees, based upon the number of false activations at a location during a calendar year.

See City Ordinance for Fee Assessments.

These fees are designed to cover the cost of sending two uniformed officers in two marked patrol cars to a false alarm. They do not consider the administrative costs of maintaining the billing system. Fee waivers are possible if strict ordinance compliance measures are met.

The Alarm Billing System is managed by a Record Section employee, dedicated to that task, who monitors the alarm registrations, false alarm tracking by account, waiver requests, verification of emergency information, correspondence and other duties required to keep the system operating efficiently and effectively. There are currently in excess of 5,000 alarms registered.

The Alarm Billing System Ordinance requires that all alarm users register their system with the Police Department. A registration form can be completed and printed from the link below. The completed form may either be mailed or hand delivered to the Police Department Records Section. A $15 registration fee must be paid at the time of registration. Contact the Records Section at (248) 871-2726.

Alarm Registration Form
Alarm Registration Form Instructions